2019 Collegiate Track Day1
National Championships

Milligan & Marian win first titles of 2019 Collegiate Track Nationals

By: Tom Mahoney  September 12, 2019

Milligan Women’s Team Pursuit is the first team to overcome Marian.

ROCK HILL, S.C. – Two team pursuit titles were awarded on the first day of the 2019 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships at the Giordana Velodrome in Rock Hill, S.C. Perennial power house Marian University were able to maintain their dominance in the Men’s Team Pursuit event, but for the first time in over ten years, a new name would take the top step of the Women’s Team Pursuit, Milligan College.

The Milligan women’s team, comprised of Manuela Escobar (Colombia), Megan Jastrab (Apple Valley, Calif.), and Gracie Pendleton (Christiana, Tenn.) would stop the clock at 5:07.502, to earn their title. Alijah Beatty (Washington, Iowa), Rachel Cross (Indianapolis), Birgit Morris (Grand Junction, Colo.), and Mikaela Toloday (Indianapolis) would race for Marian. The team would stop the clock at 5:08.808. Coming in third would be the Lindenwood University team of Marissa Carter (St. Charles, Mo.), Melissa Gomes (Florissant, Mo.), Staci McCudden (Australia), and Annika Teschke (Germany).

First champions of the 2019 Collegiate Track National Championships

On the Men’s side of the team pursuit, Marian would prove triumphant again with the team of Cade Bickmore (Longmont, Colo.), Justin Butsavage (Macungie, Pa.), Bradley Green (Schnecksville, Pa.), and Hayden Strong (New Zealand). They would take the top step of the podium with their time of 4:23.693. Setting the silver standard for the Men’s Team Pursuit was the team from Colorado Mesa University: Ian Anderson (San Antonio, Texas), Alexander Marr (Fort Collins, Colo.), Caiden Plummer (Tucson, Ariz.), and Torbjorn Roed (Norway). Rounding out the top-three was the Lindenwood University men’s team of Justin Bird (Louisville, Ky.), Tyler Curtis (Mason City, Iowa), Austin Gomes (Florissant, Mo.), and Jacob Slosar (Edwardsville, Ill.).

Qualifying and round one in both the men’s and women’s sprint also took place during the morning session. Defending champion in the event, Olivia Ray (New Zealand; Savanah College of Art & Design – Savanah), would set the speed standard for the women being the only one to go below 12 seconds. It would also be the defending champ for the Men, Peter Bock (Muskego, Wisc.; Marian University), that would come out as top seed with his time of 10.613. Then during the evening session, the sprints were pushed through the semifinal round.

Event Page


Day 1 Gallery