2024 Marathon Mountain Bike National Championships Recap 1 1130x600
National Championships

Twenty-Eight National Titles Awarded at the 2024 USA Cycling Marathon Mountain Bike National Championships

By: Sabrina Potter  June 16, 2024

Beckett and Skarda earn Elite National Titles.

The 2024 USA Cycling Marathon Mountain Bike National Championships were held at Chewacla State Park on Saturday, June 15.

It was a battle for gold in the Elite Women’s field, with the top two finishers, Alexis Skarda (Grand Junction, Colo.; Santa Cruz Bicycles SRAM) and Hannah Otto (Millcreek, Utah; Pivot Cycles/DT Swiss), crossing the line just inches apart, completing the race in 3:55:50. Ultimately, defending National Champion Skarda took first place. In the Elite Men’s field, Carson Beckett (Brevard, N.C.; Dirt Camp Racing) earned gold with a time of 3:24:58.

Twenty-six other National Champions climbed atop the podium on Saturday evening, including Ezra Caudell (Acworth, Ga.; Gravity Collective) in 17-18 Junior Men’s, Ingrid McElroy (Danville, Pa.; Bear National Team) in the 17-18 Junior Women’s, Samantha Campbell (Austin, Texas; Colorado Mesa University) in the 19-29 Amateur Women’s, Kash Steele (Agua Dulce, Calif.; Bigwheel Coaching) in the 19-29 Amateur Men’s, Katja Opfer (Rochester, Mich,; ATHLETIC MENTORS) in the 15-16 Junior Women’s, Kaison Smith (Canton, Ga.; Mission Development) in the 15-16 Junior Men’s, Rachel Melilli (Bentonville, Ark.; Specialized Project 74 / Team Momentus) in the 30-34 Master Women’s, Jacob Zimmerman (Palm City, Fla,; Z Boys) in the 30-34 Master Men’s, Ashley Green (Bella Vista, Ark,; BettySquad Elite Racing Team) in the 35-39 Master Women’s, Matthew Dockins (Wesley Chapel, Fla.) in the 35-39 Master Men’s, Amy Talbot (Gainesville, Fla.; Endura) in the 40-44 Master Women’s, Seth Zaluski (Boynton Beach, Fla.) in the 40-44 Master Men’s, Kristen Smith (San Clemente, Calif,; Team BagHouse) in the 45-49 Master Women’s, Joseph Dabbs (Homewood, Ala.; Dirt Camp Racing) in the 45-49 Master Men’s, Allyson Sepp (St. George, Utah; Artemisia Cycling) in the 50-54 Master Women’s, Bob McCarty (Cooper City, Fla.; Alex's Bicycle Pro Shop McCarty Training) in the 50-54 Master Men’s, Mara Fronhofer (Moreau, N.Y.; Ghost Bicycles) in the 55-59 Master Women’s, Timothy Zimmerman (Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.; Z-Boyz Racing) in the 55-59 Master Men’s, Jackie Cohen (Brevard, N.C.; Dirt Camp Racing) in the 60-64 Master Women’s, Samuel Morse (Cohasset, Mass.; Corner Cycle/FinKraft) in the 60-64 Master Men’s, Maureen Sanderson (Nashville, Tenn.) in the 65-69 Master Women’s, David Waltz (Waban, Mass.; 545 Velo) in the 65-69 Master Men’s, Wayne Gorry (Clemson, S.C.; Hammer Nutrition) in the 70-74 Master Men’s, Stan Ford (Temecula, Calif.; The Bike Shop) in the 75-79 Master Men’s, Ariana Khu (Little Rock, Ark.) in the Singlespeed Women’s, and Ryan Stahnke (Newark, Del.; Trestle Bridge Racing) in the Singlespeed Men’s race.

24 Marathon MTB 900x475

Photos By: Tyler Phillips

Full results from Saturday’s events can be found here.