2021 Masters Track Nats Day4 1130x600
National Championships

Mass Start Events see 34 National Titles Awarded at Masters Track Nationals

By: Tom Mahoney  September 18, 2021

Valley Preferred Cycling Center hosts 21 races on Friday night.

Scratch and Points Races were the featured events on the fourth day of the 2021 USA Cycling Masters Track National Championships at the Valley Preferred Cycling Center in Breinigsville, Pa. 34 national titles were awarded over 21 races, awarding mixed races a champion in five-year age groups.

Scratch Race

The morning session kicked off with the mixed Women’s 65+ Scratch Race. Overall, Linda Elgart (Sacramento, Calif.; Sacramento Golden Wheelmen) won the mixed age group event and garnered the Women’s 65-69 national title. Jo Johnson (Wilmington, Del.) earned the Women’s 70-74 stars-and-stripes jersey. Christine D’Ercole (Brooklyn, N.Y.; IAMICANIWILLIDO p/b Vital Performance) earned her second gold of the championships, taking the Women’s 50-54 win. She also won the Women’s 35-54 event overall. Women’s 40-44 500-meter record holder. Jennifer Wagner (Houston, Atomic Momentum) earned the Women’s 40-44 Scratch Race title. Wagner’s teammate, Tracy Jones-Martin (Houston, Atomic Momentum), secured the national title for the Women’s 45-49 Scratch. Annette Willaims (Kenmore, Wash.; Center Cycles) took the sprint in the Women’s 55-64 Scratch Race, taking the Women’s 55-59 national title. Joanne Trimpi (Pennsburg, Pa.; TTown Masters) earned the gold in the Women’s 60-64.

John Petrakis (Sonoma, Calif.; Alto Velo Racing Club) Took the top spot for the Men’s 75-79 Scratch Race. In the Men’s 80-84, Mike Brent (Titusville, N.J.; Team Somerset) was on the podium’s top step. Veon McReynolds (Houston; Sun & Ski) won his first national championship during the Men’s 70-74 Scratch Race. Kent Bostick (Knoxville, Tenn.; CTS) grabbed top honors in the Men’s 65-69 event. Setting the gold standard in the Men’s 60-64 was David Prechtl (Henderson, Nev.; Pinnalife Racing Team). Richard Miller (Philadelphia; QCW p/b Cadence Cycling) seized the national title in the Men’s 55-59 race. Michael Dahlin (Bellvue, Wash.; Center Cycles) snatched the Men’s 50-54 gold medal. In the Men’s 45-49 race, Paul Martin (North Royalton, Ohio; First Internet Bank) won the national championship. Marcin Rudnick (Mt. Prospect, Ill.; Polish & Slavic FCU International Cycling Team) took the Men’s 35-44 Scratch Race in the sprint and came away with the 40-44 title. Hailing from the Jerry Baker Velodrome, Andy Baker (Seattle; Broadmark Realty) took home the Men’s 35-39 gold medal.

Points Race

The evening session saw the Points Race take to the track. Doubling up on their wins from the morning session, Linda Elgart & Jo Johnson won the Points Race for the Women’s 65-69 and Women’s 70-74 events, respectively. Christine D’Ercole also doubled up on her hardware haul for the day, winning the Women’s 50-54 Points Race. In the Women’s 45-49, Sarah Mattes (Torrance, Calif.; Southbay Wheelmen) took home her first national title of the championships. Heather Neilson (Seattle; Kryki Sports / Audi ) earned her first stars-and-stripes jersey winning the Women’s 35-39 Points Race. In the women’s 55-59, Diane Percy (Colorado Springs, Colo.; K4/DNA Cycling) won with a total of 20 points. Going four-for-four, dominant Joanne Trimpi won her fourth meet event, taking the title in the Women’s 60-64.

On the men’s side, John Elgart (Sacramento, Calif.; Sacramento Golden Wheelmen) won the Men’s 75-79 points race. In the Men’s 80-84, Joe Saling (Bridgewater, N.J.; Team Somerset) took the win. Andrew Buck (Chestertown, Md.; TTown Masters) earned 20 points to take home the national title in the Men’s 70-74. Taking points in every sprint of the Men’s 65-69 race, Richard Cullen (Marshfield, Mass.; Big Picture Racing) dominated his way to the gold. Perennial favorite Larry Nolan (Fremont, Calif.; Peet’s Coffee Racing p/b Veloro Bicycles) added another jersey to his horde, winning the Men’s 60-64 Points Race. Wednesday’s Mens’ 55-59 Individual Pursuit winner, Daniel Casper (Saint Paul, Minn.; Donkey Label Racing), showed his authority in the Men’s 55-59 Points Race, taking four laps on the field to win the event. T-town local Michael Miller (Morgantown, Pa.; Team Ocean Spray) won six sprints out of ten, pushing him to the podium's top step in the Men’s 50-54 event. Multi-discipline rider Jeromy Cottell (Redwood City, Calif.; Touchstone Racing) added another medal to his collection this summer, after podiuming at Mountain Bike National Championships, Masters Road National Championships, and now winning the Men’s 45-49 Points Race.

Coming Up

The Points Races conclude with the Men’s 35-44 event first thing in the morning session on Saturday. Then it’s all about the sprinters with sprint rounds for the Men 35-54 and Women 35-49 on deck.