Valente Wins Champions League 1130x600
Team USA

Team USA Recap: Valente Earns Track Champions League Endurance Crown; Roberts wins UCI BMX Freestyle World Cup Series

By: Anne Stein  December 13, 2022

We recap the latest in American bike racing from the past two weeks (November 27- December 11, 2022)


UCI Track Champions League: London

(December 2-3) – Olympic medalist and world champion Jennifer Valente (Virginia Blue Ridge/TWENTY24) was crowned the Women’s Endurance League winner at this year’s UCI Track Champions League. Valente had podium finishes in nearly every round of the competition, which started in Mallorca, stopped in Berlin and Paris, then finished with two nights of racing in London. Lily Williams (Human Powered Health) placed 5th overall in the Endurance category, which included Scratch and Elimination races.

On the men’s side, defending champion Gavin Hoover (L39ion of Los Angeles) placed 10th overall in the Endurance category.

Complete results here.


UCI BMX Freestyle World Cup: Gold Coast, Australia

(December 9-11) – Four-time world champion Hannah Roberts took 3rd on the final stop of this year’s UCI BMX Freestyle World Cup race, held in Australia.

US riders packed the top 10 in both the elite men’s and women’s races. Roberts was followed by Perris Benegas (4th), Chelsea Wolfe (8th) and Angie Marino (10th).

On the men’s side, U.S. national champion Marcus Christopher was 4th, followed by Justin Dowell (5th), Bryce Tryon (8th) and Jacob Thiem (10th).

This marked the end of the World Cup circuit for BMX Freestyle. Roberts would take the women’s overall win for the series and Christopher would finish in third in his first year of international competition.

Complete results here

BMX Freestyle Pan American Championships: Lima

(November 26-27) – Riders from 11 countries competed over two days of racing for BMX Freestyle titles in Lima, Peru. American Corey Coffey, 40, placed 5th in the women’s event.

Results here


USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships: Hartford, CT

(December 6-11) – Cyclists from across the U.S. competed over six days for national championship titles in 34 categories at Hartford’s Riverside Park. Elite, U23, and junior cyclists raced on Sunday, the final day of competition.

Women’s champion Clara Honsinger (EF Education-TIBCO-SVB) took her third national title in a row, while Curtis White (Steve Tilford Foundation) captured his first national title ever.

Andrew Strohmeyer (CXHairs Devo/Trek) and Madigan Munro (Trek Factory Racing) earned U23 titles, while Andrew (AJ) August (Finkraft Junior Cycling) and Kaya Musgrave (Bear CX) took the Junior titles.

Elite Men: Curtis White (Steve Tilford Foundation), Eric Brunner (Blue Competition Cycles p/b Build), Kerry Werner (Kona Adventure Team)

Elite Women: Clara Honsinger (EF Education-TIBCO-SVB), Raylyn Nuss (Steve Tilford Foundation), Austin Killips (nice Bikes)

U23 Men: Andrew Strohmeyer (CXHairs Devo/Trek), Jules Van Kempen (Alpha Bicycle Company), Dillon McNeill (CXHairs Devo/Trek)

U23 Women: Madigan Munro (Trek Factory Racing), Katie Clouse (Colorado Mesa University), Lauren Zoerner (Alpha Bicycle/Groove Silverthorne)

Junior Men: Andrew (AJ) August (Finkraft Junior Cycling), Magnus White (Boulder Junior Cycling), David Thompson (Finkraft Junior Cycling)

Junior Women: Kaya Musgrave (Bear CX), Samantha Scott (CompEdge Racing), Greta Kilburn (Bicycle Express)

Complete results here.

Event Recaps: Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday