2019 Collegiate Track Day2
National Championships

Five National Titles Awarded on Day Two of Collegiate Track Nationals

By: Tom Mahoney  September 13, 2019

Megan Jastrab, Olivia Ray, Hayden Strong, Peter Bock, and Cade Bickmore all take home Stars-and-Stripes.

ROCK HILL, S.C. –Inclement weather wouldn’t hold back the second day of the 2019 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships at the Giordana Velodrome in Rock Hill, S.C.

Individual Pursuit

The morning would start off with 42 heats of individual pursuit, 25 for men and 17 for women. Cade Bickmore (Longmont, Colo.; Marian University) would improve upon his placing from last year, garnering the Stars-and-Stripes jersey this year for the Men’s 4,000-meter pursuit. He would stop the clock at 4:40.270. Bickmore’s teammate Hayden Strong (New Zealand) would take the second step of the podium. Ian Anderson (San Antonio; Colorado Mesa University) would set the bronze standard for the men.

Jastrab during her pursuit ride.

On the women’s side, current Junior World Champion in the International Omnium, Megan Jastrab (Apple Valley, Calif.; Milligan College), would win the 3,000-meter individual pursuit with a time of 3:46.964. Jastrab would also set the track record in the event with her time. Olivia Ray (New Zealand; Savanah College of Art & Design – Savanah), 2018’s Sprint champion, would take second in the pursuit. Alijah Beatty (Washington, Iowa; Marian University), last year’s champion in this event, would place third.

Match Sprints

Continuing from Thursday’s qualifications and early rounds, the match sprint tournaments concluded during the Friday evening session. Ray and Jastrab would swap podium spots from the women’s individual pursuit, with Ray taking home the gold, and Jastrab silver. Julia Graham (Auburn, Ga.; Piedmont College) would earn the bronze, defeating Marissa Carter (St. Charles, Mo.; Lindenwood University) in the minor finals.

Top match sprint qualifier Peter Bock (Muskego, Wisc.; Marian University), would prove dominant throughout the match sprint rounds and ascend to the top step of the podium undefeated. Dalton Waters (Richardson, Texas; Colorado Mesa University) would give Bock a run for his in the finals, narrowly missing victory. The bronze medal ride between Nick Oestreich (Powder Springs, Ga.; Belmont Abbey College) and Thomas Rotherham (Great Britain; Marian University) would each take a round, forcing their contest to a decider round. Their decider ride has been postponed until Saturday morning.

Points Race

Holliday and Strong during the Men's Points Race finals.

Strong of Marian University would add more hardware to his collection, winning the 30-kilometer points race with a total of 40 points. Going into the final sprint Strong was second in points standings behind Cormac McGeough (Ireland; Fort Lewis College), but took the final sprint which was worth double points. McGeough gained a lap at 30-laps remaining in the race, gaining him an automatic 20 points. McGeough was the only rider to take a lap during the race, and would earn him the silver medal. Lachlan Holliday (Demorest, Ga.; Piedmont College) scored 18 points, earning him the bronze. The Women’s Points Race was postponed until Saturday morning.

Event Page
Day 1 Gallery
Day 2 Gallery