Flanders Header 1130x600

Team USA Recap: Jorgenson Conquers Dwars door Vlaanderen; McNulty Wins GP Miguel Indurain

By: Anne Stein  April 02, 2024

We recap the latest in American bike racing from the past two weeks (March 19-April 2)


Dwars door Vlaanderen: Belgium

(March 27)Matteo Jorgenson (Visma-Lease a Bike) placed 1st at the 188 kilometer Dwars door Vlaanderen in Belgium. He avoided a crash that knocked out several race favorites with 60 kilometers to go, then continued on with a teammate and a small group, eventually soloing in with 10k to go and taking first by 29 seconds.

Complete results here

GP Miguel Indurain: Spain

(March 30)Brandon McNulty (UAE Team Emirates) became the first American ever to win the GP Miguel Indurain, a 203 kilometer road race through Estella, Spain. After nearly five hours of racing, McNulty won a final, two-up sprint to take the victory. It was the 25-year-old’s second overall win of the season, having previously won Volta Comunitat Valenciana.

Complete results here

E3 Saxo Classic: Belgium

(March 22)Matteo Jorgenson (Visma-Lease a Bike) kicked off his Belgian Classics season at the E3 Saxo Classic, taking 5th place at the 207 kilometer cobbled Flanders race.

Complete results here

Women’s World Tour, Classic Brugge-De Panne: Belgium

(March 21)Chloé Dygert (Canyon/SRAM Racing) placed 6th at the 155 kilometer Classic Brugge-De Panne. It was the first race of the season for the current Time Trial World Champion.

Complete results here

Tour of Flanders: Belgium

(March 31)Magnus Sheffield (INEOS Grenadiers) placed 6th at the Tour of Flanders, the one-day, 270 kilometer Belgian classic. Sheffield, age 21, was the top-placing American at the race, and it marked his first top-10 placing at a Monument Classic.

Complete results here


Tennessee National: Oliver Springs, Tennessee

(March 22-24) – Hundreds of elite and age-group cyclists gathered at Windrock Bike Park in Tennessee to compete in Downhill, Enduro, XCC and XCO, part of the USA Cycling National Series Events.

In the UCI-sanctioned downhill races, two-time national downhill champion Dakotah Norton(Mondraker Factory Racing) took 1st in elite men’s Downhill, followed by Austin Dooley(Commencal Schwalbe/Monster Army) and Ryan Pinkerton (Mondraker Factory Racing) in 2nd and 3rd. In the elite women’s race, Kailey Skelton (Ari Factory Racing) took 2nd place.

In UCI-sanctioned XCO, Chloe Fraser (Bear National Team) and Tessa Greep (Lees-McCrae College) placed 2nd and 3rd in the elite women’s race.

In men’s juniors, George Frazier (Bear National Team), Luke Harris (Gravity Academy) and Ned Broersma (Donovan Racing) went 1-3. On the women’s side, Ingrid McElroy (Bear National Team) was 1st, followed by Estelle Slingsby (Gravity Academy) and Maddie Fisher (WE Development.)

Downhill results here

XCO results here

US Pro Cup XCO Orange Seal: Temecula, California

(March 22-24) – Round one of the US Open XCO series brought together amateurs, juniors and elite racers to Vailocity Bike Park for a weekend of cross-country racing. In UCI C1 race, Christopher Blevins (Specialized Factory Racing) and Haley Batten (Specialized Factory Racing) won the elite men’s and women’s races.

Vida Lopez de San Roman (Bear National Team) won the women’s junior race, while Nichols Konecny (Bear National Team) won the men’s junior race. Ellie Krafft (Pivot Cycles) captured the women’s U23 race win, while Ivan Sippy (Team Durango Segment 28) won the men’s U23 race.

Next up is round two on April 3-7, in Fayetteville, Arkansas.


Elite Men: Christopher Blevins (Specialized Factory Racing), Adair Prieto Gutierrez (Canyon Collective), Bradyn Lange (SCOTT Orange Seal)

Elite Women: Haley Batten (Specialized Factory Racing), Jennifer Jackson (Liv Factory Racing), Gwendalyn Gibson (Trek Factory Racing-Pirelli)

U23 Men: Ivan Sippy (Team Durango Segment 28), Daniel English (Santa Cruz Rockshox Pro), Raulito Gutierrez (Bear National Team)

U23 Women: Ellie Krafft (Pivot Cycles), Ella Myers (Bike Shop Racing), Gabbi Richardson (WE Development)

Junior Men: Nicholas Konecny (Bear National Team), Luke Mosteller (Bear National Team), River Valdez (Bear National Team)

Junior Women: Vida Lopez de San Roman (Bear National Team), Elisabeth Knight (Spry DRT), Lucy Hillstrom (Spry DRT)

Complete results here

Photo: © Flanders Classics